Legend by Marie Lu

9781611760088_p0_v1_s260x420

As mentioned in my previous post, “Bookworms Anonymous,” I recently found myself in desperate need of some light reading.  The librarians at school recommended Legend, a dystopian society and romance combination similar to Divergent.  As I enjoyed Divergent (although I was slightly less enamored by it than other readers…) I figured that I would give it a try.  What I discovered was a fast-paced read with great potential but sadly lacking true significance.  (Granted, I had asked for light reading, but I have come to realize that my definition of “light” means “anything written within the past century” rather than “simple and gratifying.”)

I have no real complaint against this book as it successfully entertained me for a few hours, but overall I was a tad disappointed.  I can see why it is rarely available for check-out; it has the action, humor, and teen romance that many readers are seeking.  However, so many times the author tried- and failed- to be profound.  I’m sorry, but I really do not understand the point of referring to a fifteen-year-old heartthrob in dire need of a haircut as “an angel, although a broken one.”  I mean, I had sympathy for the characters- it is always rough trying to overthrow a totalitarian government while simultaneously struggling through puberty as an orphan- but they were stiff and the story was predictable.

Anyway, despite my qualms, I must give credit where credit is due: this book provided a means of escape during an insanely hectic time and therefore I remember it fondly.  And like I said, its story had potential and I have heard of many who enjoyed it, so perhaps it is worth skimming through, if not as food for serious thought, at least as a thick piece of brain candy.

Oh, and in case one piece of brain candy is not enough, there are sequels which hopefully expand upon the base laid by Legend.

2 thoughts on “Legend by Marie Lu

  1. This sounds goooooood. I like this kind of book and my cats do too! http://lovesbooksandcats.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/wish-my-cats-could-read/ (This is not really my cat but I wish it was :P.)

Leave a Reply

